Stricter Driving Laws For Maine Teens

In an effort to protect everyone on the road and raise awareness about distracted driving, Maine lawmakers have decided to ramp up driving restrictions for new drivers.

As of yesterday, there are new laws in effect pertaining to teenage drivers.

New-driver laws in our state used to cover a six month period of time, the new rules will now span nine months of driving. 

There now is a 270-day period where novice drivers are prohibited from

  • carrying passengers (other than family members) in their vehicles without having a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old accompanying them
  • driving between midnight and 5am
  • using cell phones while operating a vehicle

In addition, fines for texting and driving have been increased from $100 to $250.

Drivers between the ages of 16 and 24 make up 10% of license-holders, but are involved in nearly 30 percent of fatal accidents in Maine. By passing tougher new-driver laws, Maine legislators are showing that they are serious about decreasing those staggering numbers and protecting everyone on Maine roads.